Cross Country Competes And Wins Their First Ever Competition

Cross Country Competes And Wins Their First Ever Competition

Boston, MA - The Fisher Men's Cross Country team competed in their first ever race on Tuesday afternoon, defeating the Pine Manor College Gators, 27-41. In what was a blistery afternoon on the Charles River, both teams competed well, with 13 of 16 runners finishing the 3.15K course. "Every runner from both teams should be given a ton of credit for running this race in those really tough conditions. The race had a bit of everything-cold-rain-snow-wind but all the runners gutted it out and ran strong," said first-year Coach Warren MacPhail. 

Freshman Danny Morel (Yonkers, NY) took first place, finishing with a time of 19:12, a full minute ahead of the second place finisher, Reynaldo Vega (Aguada, PR). "Danny came into the season with limited cross country experience, having been a stand out football player at Riverside High School in Yonkers, but has worked his way into being a really strong runner," said Coach MacPhail. Third place went to Pine Manor's Owen Phelps who came in just behind Vega with a time of 20:20. Rounding out the top five were two-sport athletes, Janiel Laracuente and Angel Rivera, both baseball players from Caguas, PR. The only women's runner, senior Hajar El Khalfaoui (Malden, MA) finished the race with a time of 22:31. 

It was a great start to the cross country program as Coach MacPhail continues to build his teams for the future. "It was a memorable way to get Fisher College's first cross country victory," said MacPhail. "The runners overcame the conditions and you can't top that. The victory makes it even better."

Race Times

  1. Fisher - Danny Morel - 19:12
  2. Fisher - Reynaldo Vega - 20:12
  3. Pine Manor - Owen Phelps - 20:20
  4. Fisher - Janiel Laracuente - 20:39
  5. Fisher - Angel Rivera - 20:43
  6. Pine Manor - Wyatt Kerker - 21:00
  7. Pine Manor - Saul Aquelo - 21:14
  8. Pine Manor - Jon Musgrove - 21:23
  9. Pine Manor - Isiah Tucker - 21:43
  10. Fisher - Brian Montanez - 21:55
  11. Fisher - Trevor Mehlhoff - 22:00
  12. Fisher - Jordan Garcia - 22:12
  13. Fisher (W) - Hajar El Khalfaoui - 22:31
    DNF - Cole Barton
    DNF - Daniel Perez
    DNF - Zach Anderson